Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
August 19, 2017

IAFF 53rd Convention Concludes With Executive Board Elections
Updated On: Aug 21, 2016

On the final day of the IAFF 53rd Convention, delegates cast ballots in three contested elections.

In the race for 1st District Vice President, Uniformed Firefighters Association of New York Local 94 Vice President James Slevin defeated incumbent WilliamRomaka by a vote of 13,419 to 1,609.

In the 7th District, incumbent Kelly Fox defeated his challenger, Tacoma, WA Local 31 President Ryan Mudie, by a vote of 7,536 to 2,355.  

In the race for Eastern Region Trustee, incumbent Mark Ouellette defeated his challenger, past president of the Uniformed Fire Officers Association of New York Local 854 and former IAFF Chief of Staff Peter Gorman, by a vote of 86,227 to 15,804.

Filling the seats of District Vice Presidents who are retiring, and elected by acclamation on Wednesday, are:

Prince George’s County, MD Local 1619 President Andrew Pantelis in the 4th District,

British Columbia Professional Fire Fighters Association President Michael Hurley in the 6th District,

Ohio Association of Professional Fire Fighters President Mark Sanders in the 8th District and 

Los Angeles City, CA Local 112 President Frank Lima in the 10th District.

In uncontested positions, 2nd District Vice President  Mark Woolbright, 3rd District Vice President Jay Colbert, 5th District Vice President Thomas Thornberg, 9th District Vice President Ray Rahne, 11th District Vice President Sandy McGhee, 12th District Vice President Larry Osborne, 13th District Vice President FredLeBlanc, 14th District Vice President Danny Todd, 15th District Vice President David Burry and 16th District Vice President James Johnson were all elected by acclamation on Wednesday.

Also elected by acclamation on Wednesday are Region 1 Trustee and President of Winnipeg, MB Local 867 Alex Forrest and Western Region Trustee and member of Long Beach, CA Local 372 Anthony Mejia.

General President Harold Schaitberger, General Secretary-Treasurer Ed Kelly, all 16 District Vice Presidents and three Trustees were officially sworn in by retiring General Secretary-Treasurer Thomas Miller. New Executive Board members take office September 17.

IAFF Local 2494
Copyright © 2017, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

119879 hits since Jul 01, 2009

Top of Page image